Skip navigation

1899 Intercolonial Championships

18 Nov, Yarra River VIC

click here to see Photo Gallery Photo Gallery

23rd Men's Intercolonial Eight-Oared Championship

Distance: 2 1/2 miles
Time: 14.52
Margin: 4 lengths and 2 lengths

1st VIC – Bow: A Watson, 2: A Dawson, 3: J L Nolan, 4: H J Hughes, 5: T Davies, 6: Charles Donald, 7: Alex Chamley, Str: James Donald, Cox: J H Counihan, Cch: J M MacFarlane
2nd NSW – Bow: Matthew C Brownhill, 2: Harold A Smith, 3: Michael G Cater, 4: Oscar H Baass, 5: Clarrie A Smith, 6: C Henry Degotardi, 7: Arthur J Fitzhardinge, Str: Edward A Pearson, Cox & Cch: C Lou Quist, Emerg: D G Bathgate
3rd SA - Bow: J Irvine, 2: W Plaisted, 3: K McKenzie, 4: W A Abernethy, 5: J H Walker, 6: W B Walker, 7: C Lawson, Str: Joseph H Clouston, Cox: W Sweeney, Cchs: Messrs Morrow and Barton, Trainer: M McArgill
4th QLD – Bow: W Mellish, 2: T Cusack, 3: J A O'Connor, 4: F Craig, 5: T J Lyons, 6: F B Whitman, 7: E Colclough, Str: Dan E Joyce, Cox: A Cadden, Cch: Stephen Fairbairn

The amateur question was finally resolved for this regatta and NSW rejoined the competition. The 1896 conference definition was agreed to but operative from 1st January 1897, effectively allowing the Victorians who had raced for cash prizes in other sports prior to that date to be eligible.

NSW crew

NSW Crew

Men's Interstate Sculling Championship

Time: 18.41.5
Margin: 15 lengths

1st NSW – John J Daley
2nd QLD – Michael J Slack

The sculling championship was won easily by 15 lengths after Slack suffered steering problems.

certificate of participation

Certificate of Participation

click here to see Photo Gallery Photo Gallery

< previous 1898 Intercolonial Championships
> next 1900 Intercolonial Championships

top of page