Skip navigation

Interstate Championships

Men's: 4 May 1929, Swan River WA
Women's: 15 May 1929, Swan River WA

click here to see Photo Gallery Photo Gallery


1929 Programme Cover from the Men's Interstate Championships


48th Men's Interstate Eight-Oared Championship—The King's Cup

finish of the King's Cup

1929 King's Cup Finish

Time: 16.43
Margins: 3/4, 10 & 4 lengths

1st NSW - Bow: S Fred Evans, 2: N I Reynolds, 3: J T Mitchell, 4: August Otto Pfafflin, 5: Joe T Vinden, 6: Cyril B Callaghan, 7: I B ("Longley") Evans, Str: H Les Callaghan, Cox: Reg J Daley, Emergs: J B Harkness & Sidney Raper, Cch: Oswald J Wood, Mgr: Harold G Alderson
2nd WA - Bow: William (Bill) A Browne, 2: Frank H Powell, 3: A Perc Ffarrington, 4: Peter Bessell-Browne, 5: George Orgill, 6: A G (Gra) Rosser, 7: Bert Buzolic, Str: W Murray Church, Cox: Patrick Nelligan, Emergs: Alex Thomas & B Cooper, Cch: Paddy S Ryan, Mgr: Stan O'Brien
3rd VIC - Bow: J E Andre, 2: E P Panther, 3: L L Zilles, 4: Jack W Beattie, 5: Fred J Yates, 6: H M Grace, 7: Stanley B McGorm, Str: Gordon "Clarrie" C Hutchins, Cox: A J Wilson. Emergs: V Thomas & V Barker-Hays, Cchs: A J Dawson & J B Suffren, Mgr: Edward Kenny, Sole selector: Cecil McVilly
4th SA - Bow: F A Davey, 2: A Hallett, 3: C G White, 4: T J Jelly, 5: Ken S White, 6: L White, 7: L Georecke, Str: W R Salkeld, Cox: C F Turner, Emerg: A Plaisted, Cch: W Salkeld, Mgr: R Wallmans

Tasmania was given an exemption from competing due to floods which disrupted their preparation. The AARC resolution read: "That exemption be granted as a special case in view of the exceptional and unprecedented circumstances and that Tasmania shall not lose its next turn in the rotation of the race." Queensland also had an exemption under the rules from competing in WA.

The eights race was a splendid race between NSW and WA with VIC close up for the first three quarters of the event. The NSW crew was comprised solely of members of the Mosman Rowing Club who had won the Henley on the Yarra Grand Challenge Cup on two occasions. It was also the first win for New South Wales since 1911. The Victorian Rowing Association allowed selected crews to be challenged for the right to represent their State. A successful challenge was mounted by the Ballarat Clubs and a new crew named to represent Victoria.

Men's Interstate Sculling Championship—The President's Cup

Time: 15.47.0
Margin 3 1/2 lengths

1st NSW - Henry (Bobby) Pearce
2nd WA - Keith "Sprocket" Langley

The Victorian Rowing Association did not have a sculler of sufficient standing to compete.

Bobby Pearce and K Langley

Pearce being congratulated by Langley

Women's Interstate Four-Oared Championship—The ULVA Trophy

Distance: 1/2 mile
No time taken
Margin: 1 foot

1st VIC - Bow: Ruby Robinson, 2: Minnie Anderson, 3: Edna Barlow, Str: Rose Gideon, Cox: William (Billy) Dron, Cch: A R Gideon, Mgr: Mrs Gideon
2nd NSW - Bow: Iris Pike, 2: Win Durrell, 3: Flo Thurston, Str: Rose Goodman, Cox: C Nickson, Emergencies: V Mossop, E Wall and T Riley, Cch: Claude Rosevear
3rd SA - Bow: F Eime, 2: M.Quin, 3: A. Hill, Str: J. Thomas, Cox : L. Hill
4th WA - Bow: F Biessel, 2 : K Nelson, 3 : L Orme, Str: L Haub, Cox : P Nelligan, Cch : Bob Joyce

The Victorian crew hailed from the Essendon Ladies Rowing Club and won by a mere one foot from NSW who had led throughout the race until the last few strokes. The NSW crew looked far better than the Victorians but the Victorians used rate and determination to overcome the NSW women. This was Victoria's first win in this event.

The district of Essendon also got it's first Champions in any sport. The Mayor and Councillors of the City of Essendon met the girls upon their return at the railway station and they were taken by motorcade to the Essendon Town Hall for a Civic Reception.

Victorian women's four

1929 Champion Women's Four from Essendon Rowing Club

click here to see Photo Gallery Photo Gallery

< previous 1928
> next 1930

top of page