Skip navigation

Interstate Championships

Women's: 18 Apr 1936, Yarra River VIC
Men's: 2 May 1936, Swan River WA

click here to see Photo Gallery Photo Gallery

1936 programme

1936 Programme Cover from the Men's Interstate Championships


the course

The course at Perth

54th Men's Interstate Eight-Oared Championship—The King's Cup

Distance: 3 miles
Time: 16.22
Margins: 3 & 3 lengths

1st NSW - Bow: William G Thomas, 2: W H Campbell, 3: W L Buckham, 4: Jack T Fisher, 5: William J Dixon, 6: Duncan J Baggett, 7: Edward R Bromley, Str: John R Burrell, Cox: Douglas W Bowden, Emerg: Stan J McGilvray, Cch: Sidney Raper, Mgr: E J Buckley, Sole Selector: Bernie S Williams
2nd SA - Bow: J R Goode, 2: Max J Richardson, 3: John C Williams, 4: F A Pinyon, 5: M F Bonnin, 6: W W Alexander, 7: William A McCann, Str: Alf J Gregory, Cox: Deb Earl, Emerg: E F Yates, Cch: Taufik K Qurban, Mgr: L T Grummett
3rd WA - Bow: Archie F Dobson, 2: C Clark, 3: G Farquharson, 4: A Reay, 5: Vic Shakespeare, 6: Francis (Frank) A W Le Souef, 7: Charles B Huggall, Str: Charles (Chook) S Liggins, Cox: F R Chisnell, Emergs: A Marshall & F W Rogers, Cch: Richard (Dick) T Gard, Mgr: Stan O'Brien
4th VIC - Bow: Thomas Warburton, 2: J D Nielson, 3: J P L Appleby, 4: Max Gaskin, 5: J P Gaskin, 6: Lachlan J Thompson, 7: A A Kelly, Str: Peter B Jelbart, Cox: J Cowling, Emerg: Jim Clemens, Cch: H La Roche, Mgr: H E Butler, Selector: G W Smith, H E Butler & coach.

New South Wales' Men's Eight

NSW Crew

The conditions were a strong tail breeze making for a fast time but quite lumpy water. The victory by NSW is even more memorable when considering the whole of the Police Club eight was unavailable due to Olympic preparations. NSW got away well and moved out to 3/4 length lead by the end of the first mile. South Australia hung on well until 1/2 mile to go when NSW broke away and went on to increase the margin from one length to three. WA was a further 3 lengths further back in third place.

Men's Interstate Sculling Championship—The President's Cup

Distance: 2 1/2 miles
Time: 16.15.0
Margin: easily

1st NSW - Cecil A Pearce
2nd WA - Keith (Sprock) Langley

The sculling race was a clear win to Pearce from the start.

Cecil Pearce

Cecil Pearce from NSW

Women's Interstate Four-Oared Championship—The ULVA Trophy

Distance: 1/2 Mile
Time: 3.32.2
Margin: 4 lengths

1st VIC - Bow: Merle Smith, 2: Viola Keane, 3: F Johnson, Str: Minnie Anderson, Cox: Mr R Marks
2nd TAS - Bow: Gladys Cullen, 2: Maisie Doran, 3: Joan Hawkins, Str: Nancy Reardon, Cox: L Barber
3rd QLD - Bow: P Dahlin, 2: W Ford, 3: T Tate, Str: Donna Kulick, Cox: Mr R Duncan, Emerg: Nell Plint
4th SA - Bow: J Smart, 2: Dean Bradley, 3: G McDermott, Str: Jo Thomas, Cox: W Barnes
5th NSW - Bow: Alice Kennedy, 2: Jean Rae, 3: May Harvey, Str: Nea Walcot, Cox: J A Boultbee, Cch: Chris Kayser, Emerg: G Crockett
Bundaberg R C - Bow; R Crozman, 2: R Doran, 3: F Crozsett, Str: A Hampson, Cox: Colin Moorhead

NSW Women's Four

NSW Four at the regatta

The Australian Women's Rowing Council was forced to decide which Queensland crew would represent Queensland in this Championship. Both Queensland crews made their way to Melbourne in the expectation of being named the crew.

The problem appears to have started in Queensland where the Queensland Women's Rowing Association did not recognize the Bundaberg Club as a women's club. Accordingly their members were unable to compete for the right to represent Queensland.

The decision made by the national body was based upon which club was affiliated with the Queensland Women's Rowing Association when entries closed. The Bundaberg Club was not so affiliated and were not given a start. A motion was moved at this meeting that neither crew be permitted to start but this was amended to allow one crew to start.

The South Australian crew suffered an illness to their two seat rower Pat O'Malley. Dean Bradley of the Railways Club, who lived in Melbourne, was used as a substitute.

Victoria led from the start but had to withstand a push by Tasmania who got within a length at one stage. The Victorian crew went on to win by 4 lengths.

click here to see Photo Gallery Photo Gallery

< previous 1935
> next 1937

top of page