Skip navigation

Interstate Championships

Women's: 29 Apr 1950, Parramatta River NSW
Men's: 6 May 1950, Yarra River VIC

click here to see Photo Gallery Photo Gallery

1950 programme

1950 Programme Cover for the Men's Interstate Championships


Organising Committee & Officials

Organising Committee: VRA
Edward Kenny, H T James, Alec L Dobbie, N S Muir, A M Dowling, K A G Field, Noel F Wilkinson
Starter: J P Gaskin, Ass Starter H L La Roche
Umpire: S C Steward, Ass Umpire: Jack L Mounsey
Judge: H T James, Ass Judge: J E McKeddie
Despatch Steward: Norman W Cairnes
Clerk of Scales: Ron J March
Timekeepers: F Peters & E R Dunn

Men's Interstate Eight-Oared Championship—The King's Cup

Distance: 2 1/2 miles
Time: 12.40.5
Margins: 4 & 4 lengths

1st NSW - Bow: C B Hopkins, 2: David R Anderson, 3: Nim Greenwood, 4: Mervyn D Finlay, 5: Don R Palmer, 6: Vic R Middleton, 7: Robert N Tinning, Str: Phil A Cayzer, Cox: Tom E Chessell, Emerg: Ernie W Chapman, Cch: Norm T Grounds, Mgr: Doug W Bowden
2nd VIC - Bow: William Wallace, 2; Andrew C Kingsbury, 3: Murray A Christie, 4: Laurie L B Moll, 5: David S McGlashan, 6: L C Weber, 7: A G (Paddy) Barrett, Str: Ian G Everist, Cox: A L Bennett, Coach: Ray Todd, Emerg: Robert R Aitken & J Hibben, Selectors Jack South, Charles Saleh & coach, Mgr: H E Butler
3rd WA - Bow: G Richard Dempster, 2: L Bruce Glaskin, 3: Graham L Norton, 4: Alec W Murphy, 5: John R Caddy, 6: James L Paton, 7: Gordon M Andrews, Str: John E Foley, Cox: Ken H Carrick, Cch: George M Orgill, Emerg: Paul T Travers, Mgr: Jas A Child
4th SA - Bow: A J Smithson, 2: R K Coldwell, 3: R Pike, 4: W H Nerlich, 5: John A Hill, 6: Ken M Morris, 7: Laurie L Williamson, Str: Keith L Coldwell, Cox: J Pengelly, Emerg: M W Harrison, Cch: L S Davis, Mgr: Robert S Palmer
5th TAS - Bow: Malcolm Will, 2: Don Gray, 3: Robert J Clark, 4: R D Barker, 5: Horrie D Lockley, 6: R Dudley Salveson, 7: R J Shields, Str: Ernie Roberts, Cox: David Archer, Emerg: D Heron, Cch: W D Gibson, Mgr: Chas. T P Cooney
6th QLD - Bow: E A Douglas, 2: A A Seawright, 3: C J Brett, 4: L J Lambert, 5: Jim M Dowrie, 6: D S Kronfeld, 7: Don H McClymont, Str: P A Taylor, Cox: R G Bourne, Emerg: D J Mercer, Cch: A D Brown, Manager: F Lou Poulgrain

The eights race was won by NSW who led all the way. Victoria challenged about half a mile to go but this was repelled and NSW won by four lengths.

Men's Interstate Sculling Championship—The President's Cup

Distance: 2 1/2 miles
Time: 15.30.2
Margin: 1 foot

1st NSW - Mervyn T Wood
2nd VIC - Ron V Rawlins
3rd TAS - W Alan Jones
4th QLD - Sid F Rogers

The sculling race was narrowly won by Merv Wood from Ron Rawlins of Victoria. Wood's scull was holed and he was lucky to make the finish line.

The Melbourne Argus reported on Monday 8th May 1950 as follows:
World champion won-but just!
By Harold Balfe
A sprained wrist half a mile from the winning post almost cost world sculling champion Merv. Wood (N.S.W.) the Australian Amateur Sculling Championship on the Yarra on Saturday.

Wood officially beat Ron Rawlins (Vic.) by one foot. It was one of the most
dramatic sculling finishes ever seen in Australia. Wood said after the race
it was the luckiest win he had ever had."My right wrist and hand would have been useless in another stroke or so, and I save a terrific sigh of relief when I heard the judge's gun," he added.

Over the last 100 yards it was almost impossible for Wood to put any weight on his right scull. Earlier in the week his wrist had given him a little trouble, but
not until the final half-mile in Saturday's race did he realise its seriousness. "I knew I was going to be in trouble when I felt a twinge of pain about a mile
from home," he said. "It steadily became worse, and Ron was worrying me
like a bulldog. I couldn't shake him off, and my wrist was giving no end of trouble. "It was bad luck for Ron, because he's the greatest sculler Victoria has produced in 20 years."

It was a "two-man" race. Wood was the early leader, and at the three-quarter
mile post was a length in front of Rawlins. Alan Jones (Tas.) and Sid Rogers (Q.) were several lengths behind. However, near the dock mouth, Wood executed a manouvre which in different circumstances could have led to his disqualification. He swung right across the stream and took up a position where he covered Rawlins and was able to watch him. Rawlins had "whittled"
down the lead to only a quarter of a length with 50 yards to go, and they
crossed the line locked together. Jones was some distance away third, with
Rogers fourth.

Women's Interstate Four-Oared Championship—The ULVA Trophy

Distance: 3/4 Mile
Time: 5.05.0
Margins: 1 & 2 lengths

1st NSW - Bow: Elsie Green, 2; Ivy Crook, 3: Gwen O'Keefe, Str: Laurna Boyd, Cox: David Aherns, Cch: Harry Green
2nd VIC - Bow: Bonnie Hill, 2: Joyce Filler, 3: Cathy ?, Str: Jess Manton, Cox and Coach: Dorra Hassell
3rd QLD - Bow: M Brewer, 2: D Dittman, 3: A Dittman, str: B Lister, Cox: Mr B Anderson

Again the winning NSW crew hailed from Tweed Head & Coolongatta Rowing Club in Queensland.

click here to see Photo Gallery Photo Gallery

< previous 1949
> next 1951

top of page